Who are the members of the Harvard Corporation?

Amid the turmoil over Harvard University President Claudine Kay, the powerful board that governs the university is in the spotlight. Despite the growing scrutiny on Dr. K, the Harvard Corporation has so far shown support for him.

The Harvard Corporation—formally known as the President and Fellows of Harvard College—consists of 13 members (one position is currently unfilled), is responsible for hiring the university's president, and arbiters major policy decisions. Members who meet several times a year are not paid for their participation.

A smaller and more powerful group of two executive committees at Harvard, Pre-1650It became the oldest institution in the Western Hemisphere, According to the university. For generations, the body consisted of only the university president and six other members, but it expanded to 13 members in 2010, amid calls for clearer communication with the broader Harvard community. According to the School Office of Governing Councils.

Here's what to know about the current members of the group.

Timothy R. Parakeet Treasurer and Donor of the University. He founded the now-defunct hedge fund Atticus Capital, which he led as chairman and chief executive for 15 years. Now he is the Chief Executive TRB Consultants, the family investment firm he founded in 2010. Mr. Baraket has also worked in philanthropy; He works Board The Harvard Management Company administers Harvard's endowment.

Kenneth I. Chenaultdebt…Mike Cohen for The New York Times

Kenneth I. Chenault is president and managing director of the venture capital firm General Catalyst. Previously he worked Chairman and Chief Executive American Express Company. Mr. Chenault has served on the boards of many influential companies, including IBM and Procter & Gamble. He is also a board member of the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture and Bloomberg Philanthropies.

Mariano-Florentino Cuylerdebt…Pool photo by Dolka Akmen

Mariano-Florentino (Tino) Cuellar is a former Justice of the California Supreme Court; He now serves as president of the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. Mr. Cuyler worked in the White House The Clinton and Obama administrations and served as Co-Chair of the US Department of Education's Commission on Equity and Specialization and Co-Chair of the Immigration Policy Task Force for the Obama-Biden Transition Plan. He was also Special Assistant to the President for Justice and Regulatory Policy during President Barack Obama's first term. For two decades, he was a member of the Stanford University faculty.

See also  Trump says he'll encourage Russia to attack NATO allies that don't pay

Paul J. Finnegan is a former treasurer of Harvard Member of the Harvard Board of Overseers and past president of the Harvard Alumni Association. Mr. Finnegan is the leader Madison Dearborn Partners, a private-equity investment firm based in Chicago, he helped found in the 1990s. He is a current member and past chair of Teach for America's Chicago Regional Advisory Board, and past treasurer of the organization's national board of trustees. Mr. Finnegan also serves Board Harvard Institute of Management

Claudine Kdebt…Adam Klansman for The New York Times

Dr. Kay became Harvard's president in July, while also serving as a member of the board. She is Harvard's first black president and the second woman to hold the position. Dr. Kay holds a BA in Economics from Stanford University and a Ph.D. in government from Harvard. Read more about Dr. K here.

BT Martindebt…Adam Klansman for The New York Times

Biddy Martin is a German Studies scholar. Mrs. Martin was the chancellor of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and the longest-serving chancellor of Cornell University, where he led efforts in financial aid and philanthropy. Winn also served as the 19th president Amherst College.

Karen Gordon Millsdebt…Brooks Craft LLC/Corbis, via Getty Images

Karen Gordon Mills Worked as an administrator For more than four years Mr. of the US Small Business Administration under Obama. He was also a member of the National Economic Council. She is currently a Senior Fellow at Harvard Business School, as well President Investment firm MMP Group, Inc., et al Auxiliary chair Board of Directors of the National Bureau of Economic Research.

See also  Stocks waver before inflation makes or breaks: markets wrap

Diana L. Nelson is Another former member of the Harvard Board of Overseers. Ms. Nelson is heavily involved in alumni initiatives – she co-chaired the Harvard College Fund and the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Task Force on Undergraduate Students. She has also dabbled in the non-profit sector, holding leadership positions in organizations focused on children and the arts. She was recognized by Queen Silvia of Sweden in 2007 for helping exploited children.

Tracy Bunn Balanziandebt…Jim Davis/The Boston Globe, via Getty Images

Tracy Bunn Balandjian is the chief executive and co-founder of Community Fund, a nonprofit investing in areas such as housing and education for low-income and historically marginalized populations. She is a Team member to the Boston Foundation, one of the nation's oldest community foundations. Ms. Balanzian is a former member of the Board of Supervisors, where she was Vice Chair of the Administrative Committee and Chair of the School Committee and Attendance Subcommittee. Ms. Balanzian's family is also a major donor to the university.

Benny Pritzkerdebt…True Anchorer/Getty Images

Benny Pritzker is a leading member of the Harvard Corporation. A billionaire businessman, heir to the Hyatt hotel fortune and Illinois governor JP. Pritzker's sister, Mr. Ms. Pritzker, an early supporter of Obama's presidential bid, later served as U.S. Commerce Secretary in his administration.

Shirley M. Tilghmandebt…Jeff Jelawanski/Getty Images

Shirley M. Tilghman D Former president of Princeton University, known for his work in molecular biology. Mrs. Tilghman also chaired the Life Sciences Review at Harvard.

Theodore V. Wells Jrdebt…By John Marshall Mandel for The New York Times

Theodore V. Wells Jr. A Trial counsel And Associate Head of Litigation Department Law firm Ball, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison. Mr. Wells chairs the board of directors for the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund, and in 2011, he won the Thurgood Marshall Lifetime Achievement Award.

See also  Joe Biden: A political grenade disguised as a statement

Rob Copeland, Maureen Farrell And Sarah Mervosh Contributed report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *