Gerrit Cole wins the American League Cy Young Award

As expected, Gerrit Cole 2023 Cy Young winner in the American League. The Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced the Yankee star won the award. Former Minnesota right-hander Sonny Gray Runner-up, meanwhile, is Toronto Kevin Gausman took third place.

There wasn’t a ton of intrigue, as Coley received all 30 first-place votes. While he is a six-time All-Star and two-time ERA champion, this is his first career Cy Young. No AL pitcher topped Cole’s 209 innings, while he led junior circuit pitchers (minimum 150 innings) with a 2.63 ERA. He was sixth in that group with a 27% strike rate and trailed only Gausman. Pablo Lopez With a total of 222 punchouts.

That well-rounded dominance made Cole easily the best pitcher in the AL in the eyes of voters. It was his sixth top-five finish and the third time he has reached the finals, as he finished runner-up twice. Having at least one Cy Young on his resume could go a long way toward burning his eventual Hall of Fame case.

For now, the 33-year-old will be looking to replicate this year’s success. Despite Cole turning in one of the best seasons of his career, New York faltered midseason and finished above .500. Cole will be in the Bronx for at least another year. He is entering the fifth year of a nine-year, $324MM free agent contract. He has the ability to leave after next season.

Gray earned 20 second-place votes to tie for the highest Cy Young finish of his career. It was just in time for the three-time All-Star, who hit free agency two weeks ago. Gausman received seven second-place votes and was the most common choice for third. Votes went to the wrong second place Luis Castillo And Zach EflinBaltimore though Kyle Bradish It finished fourth in the overall voting.

See also  Delta pilots approve 34% contract wage hike

Others must receive at least one vote: Lopez, George Kirby, Framber Valdez, Chris Bassitt, Felix Bautista And Chris Martin. Full results are available BBWAA website.

Image courtesy of USA TODAY Sports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *